# AEO Fundamentals review (2026): price, rating, what it teaches

> AEO Fundamentals: composite 63.2 of 100, Free, no public rating, 6 of 13 curriculum flags confirmed. Checked September 2026.

URL: https://aiseocourse.directory/courses/aeo-fundamentals/

AEO Fundamentals review: a self-paced program on Vendor academy from HubSpot Academy, taught by Jorie Munroe, Jenn Sanchez, ranked 18 of 44 English programs with a composite of 63.2 at low confidence, evidence tier C (checked 17 September 2026).

Price Free (checked 17 Sep 2026). Rating: No public rating (checked 17 Sep 2026). No member or enrolment count is published (checked 17 Sep 2026). Curriculum: 6 of 13 tracked flags confirmed, 7 confirmed absent, 0 unverified.

## Verdict

By Editorial team. Opinion within the published method; every figure is from the record below.

AEO Fundamentals is a free, self-paced HubSpot Academy course, and it is short: 7 lessons running about 2 hr 20 min, taught by Jorie Munroe and Jenn Sanchez. Public evidence is thin. It sits at tier C, discussion only, with no course-level rating on HubSpot Academy or any review site, so confidence is low and the directory lists it on the free and beginner hubs without a rank. The composite of 63.2 rests on recency and transparency rather than learner satisfaction. It is a sane grounding in answer engine basics for someone new to the topic. Skip it if you want GEO, crawler access or anything past an introduction.

### Who it fits

-   Marketers meeting answer engine optimisation for the first time
-   HubSpot users who want a free completion certificate
-   Anyone testing whether AEO deserves a paid course later

### Who should skip it

-   Practitioners already running AI visibility tests
-   Buyers who need GEO and crawler access coverage
-   Anyone who needs an accredited qualification

## Score breakdown

Composite 63.2 of 100, rubric v1, evidence tier C, low confidence (43 of 67 attributes confirmed, checked 17 Sep 2026). The score measures public evidence about a program (what is published, what learners say, how current it is), not teaching quality.

[AI SEO course scoring methodology](/methodology/): weights, evidence ladder, confidence rule and what was checked and not found for every program. Every price in context: [AI SEO course cost](/ai-seo-course-cost/).

| Dimension | Weight | Score | Points | Evidence |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Satisfaction | 0%base 22% | n/a | 0.0 | No course-level rating found (checked 2026-09-17); platforms checked: hubspot-academy, trustpilot, g2, reddit-rating, linkedin-rating |
| Volume | 13% | 0 | 0.0 | . Caps: undefined reviews, members. |
| Recency | 15% | 96 | 14.4 | Latest dated evidence: public discussion on 4 Sep 2026, 0.5 months before the cutoff of 18 Sep 2026; 5 dated events on record. |
| Sentiment | 31%base 20% | 70 | 21.7 | 5 independent items: 2 positive, 3 mixed, 0 neutral, 0 negative; 0 provider-authored excluded. Commentary praises the course as an accessible entry point with useful measurement frameworks, though some note it is introductory. Certificate issues and access restrictions drew complaint. |
| Transparency | 31%base 20% | 67 | 20.7 | 4 of 6 checks met (checked 17 Sep 2026); not met: member or enrolment count published, testimonials or reviews carry dates; not applicable: refundPublished. |
| Completeness | 10% | 64 | 6.4 | 43 of 67 tracked attributes confirmed (checked 17 Sep 2026). |

Weight redistribution (evidence ladder): satisfaction (22%) to sentiment, transparency.

## Facts

Each value carries its data label (provider-stated, observed, calculated), the date it was checked and its source. Unverified means the value could not be confirmed on a public page by the check date.

| Attribute | Value | Label | Checked | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Provider | HubSpot Academy | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Instructor | Jorie Munroe, Jenn Sanchez | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [2] |
| Platform | Vendor academy | observed | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Format | Self-paced: HubSpot Academy course with on-demand lessons, videos, and certification | observed | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Level | Unverified | unverified | 17 Sep 2026 |  |
| Language | English | observed | 17 Sep 2026 |  |
| Status | Live | observed | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Price | Free | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Price note | FREE Certification Course | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Annual price | Unverified | unverified | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Normalised monthly cost | $0 (free) | calculated | 17 Sep 2026 |  |
| Pricing mechanism | Unverified | unverified |  |  |
| Instalments | Unverified | unverified | 17 Sep 2026 |  |
| Regional pricing | Unverified | unverified | 17 Sep 2026 |  |
| Team pricing | Unverified | unverified | 17 Sep 2026 |  |
| Refund policy | Not applicable (free program) |  |  |  |
| Course rating | UnverifiedPlatforms checked with no course-level rating: hubspot academy, Trustpilot, G2, Reddit, linkedin rating | unverified | 17 Sep 2026 |  |
| Members or enrolled | Unverified | unverified | 17 Sep 2026 |  |
| Launched | Unverified | unverified |  |  |
| Last dated content update seen | Unverified | unverified | 17 Sep 2026 |  |
| Next cohort | Unverified | unverified | 17 Sep 2026 |  |
| Access model | Unverified | unverified |  |  |
| Update model | Unverified | unverified |  |  |
| Module count | 7 | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Lesson count | 7 | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Hours of video | 2 hr 20 min | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Time to complete | 2 hr 20 min | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Live call frequency | Unverified | unverified |  |  |
| Live call day | Unverified | unverified | 17 Sep 2026 |  |
| Live call timezone | Unverified | unverified | 17 Sep 2026 |  |
| Support channel | Unverified | unverified |  |  |
| Instructor access | Unverified | unverified |  |  |
| Practical work | Unverified | unverified |  |  |
| Certificate | Yes, accreditation unverified | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Community included | Unverified | unverified |  |  |
| Tools bundled | Unverified | unverified | 17 Sep 2026 |  |
| Tools taught | Google Search Console, Google Analytics 4 (GA4) | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| AI platforms named | Google ai overviews, Chatgpt, Gemini, Perplexity | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Audience (provider-stated) | beginners | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [3] |
| Provider ranks itself in a roundup | No | observed | 17 Sep 2026 | [4] |
| Affiliate program | Yes, 30% recurring commission for up to one year | observed | 17 Sep 2026 | [5] |
| Public case studies | Unverified | unverified | 17 Sep 2026 |  |

## AEO Fundamentals price and price history

Free (checked 17 September 2026). One dated observation on record, so no trend is shown. FREE Certification Course.

| Date | Amount | Model | Members at the time | Note | Seen | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 29 Jun 2026 | $0 | Free | unverified | First listed capture; FREE Certification Course was visible. | 17 Sep 2026 | [6] |

### AEO Fundamentals refund policy

Not applicable: the program is free (checked 17 Sep 2026).

## What AEO Fundamentals teaches

6 of 13 tracked curriculum flags are confirmed on public pages, 7 confirmed absent and 0 unverified (checked 17 September 2026). A confirmed flag means the provider's own curriculum or listing names the topic; the source is cited, the wording is not reproduced.

| Flag | Status | Label | Checked | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| GEO | No | calculated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| AEO | Yes | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| LLM citations | Yes | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Entity SEO | No | calculated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| AI visibility measurement | Yes | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Traditional SEO | Yes | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Links and off-page | No | calculated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Local AI SEO | No | calculated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Structured data | Yes | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| AI crawler access | No | calculated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Content for extraction | Yes | provider-stated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| Brand mentions and PR | No | calculated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |
| AI workflows and automation | No | calculated | 17 Sep 2026 | [1] |

## Reception

### Ratings by platform

No course-level rating was found (checked 17 September 2026). Platforms checked: hubspot academy, Trustpilot, G2, Reddit, linkedin rating. A missing rating is never scored as zero; see the score breakdown for how the weight moved.

### What public discussion says

Derived from 5 independent public items (reviews and forum or social posts; 0 provider-authored items excluded), labelled by theme and stance, checked 17 September 2026. No review text is stored. Stances: 2 positive, 3 mixed, 0 neutral, 0 negative.

#### Praise themes

-   Beginner friendly (1)
-   Niche fit (1)
-   Practical tools (1)

#### Complaint themes

-   Certificate value (2)
-   Access limits (1)

Commentary praises the course as an accessible entry point with useful measurement frameworks, though some note it is introductory. Certificate issues and access restrictions drew complaint.

### Independent discussion on record

-   [reddit.com](https://www.reddit.com/r/hubspot/comments/1up4ny9/is_the_hubspot_aeo_fundamentals_certification/)
    
     (2026-07-06, positive): A completed learner says the tiered metrics framework helped with measurement and leadership communication; replies call it an introduction. seen 17 Sep 2026
-   [reddit.com](https://www.reddit.com/r/hubspot/comments/1uiyd1c/are_there_any_aeo_certifications_for_marketers/)
    
     (2026-06-29, positive): A post recommends the free Fundamentals certification as an entry point for people familiar with inbound or SEO. seen 17 Sep 2026
-   [community.hubspot.com](https://community.hubspot.com/t/aeo-fundamentals-certificate-description-text-is-cut-off/156251)
    
     (2026-08-17, mixed): A learner reported truncated certificate text; community support later said backend formatting was updated. seen 17 Sep 2026
-   [community.hubspot.com](https://community.hubspot.com/t/aeo-fundamentals-hubspot-academy-certificate-generated-in-german-instead-of-english/158024)
    
     (2026-09-04, mixed): A learner reported an English course producing a German certificate; a moderator said the language issue would be checked. seen 17 Sep 2026
-   [community.hubspot.com](https://community.hubspot.com/t/passed-seo-ii-certification-but-certificate-did-not-generate/151749)
    
     (2026-07-01, mixed): A learner reported certificate failure during the SEO-certification retirement; HubSpot pointed to AEO Fundamentals as the replacement and later manually awarded the old credential. seen 17 Sep 2026

## Cautions

Sourced facts from the caution checks (price consistency, page history, instructor identity, testimonial dating, self-ranking, certificate claims). Neutral by design: each line is what a public page shows, with its date.

1.  The seller's course page publishes "FREE Certification Course." Check 1, seen 17 Sep 2026 [\[1\]](#src-1)
    
2.  The current title and URL slug use AEO Fundamentals; the Wayback calendar lists no 2024 capture and starts at June 29, 2026. Check 2, seen 17 Sep 2026 [\[7\]](#src-7)
    
3.  The course page names Jorie Munroe and Jenn Sanchez as instructors. Check 3, seen 17 Sep 2026 [\[1\]](#src-1)
    
4.  The course page is accessible and does not state an access-window end date. Check 4, seen 17 Sep 2026 [\[1\]](#src-1)
    
5.  No testimonials are displayed on the current course page. Check 5, seen 17 Sep 2026 [\[1\]](#src-1)
    
6.  HubSpot's SEO-expert article lists AEO resources but does not rank AEO Fundamentals in a best-course list. Check 6, seen 17 Sep 2026 [\[4\]](#src-4)
    
7.  The course page calls it a certification course and does not name an external accrediting body. Check 7, seen 17 Sep 2026 [\[1\]](#src-1)
    
8.  HubSpot publishes an affiliate program offering 30% recurring commission for up to one year. Check 8, seen 17 Sep 2026 [\[5\]](#src-5)
    
9.  A public HubSpot Community thread records truncated certificate text and a later formatting update. Check 9, seen 17 Sep 2026 [\[8\]](#src-8)
    
10.  A public HubSpot Community thread records an English course producing a German certificate. Check 9, seen 17 Sep 2026 [\[9\]](#src-9)

## Compared with

-   [AEO Fundamentals vs Answer Engine Optimization (AEO) Course](/compare/ahrefs-answer-engine-optimization-course-vs-aeo-fundamentals/)

### AEO Fundamentals alternatives

No cheaper program in the same format band and language is on record (checked 17 Sep 2026).

## AEO Fundamentals review: questions

How much does AEO Fundamentals cost?

Nothing. The price model is free and the HubSpot Academy page labels it a free certification course. The page states no payment alternative, no upsell and no access-window end date; checked 17 September 2026.

What does AEO Fundamentals cover?

Across 7 modules: answer engines and AEO basics, E-E-A-T, keyword research, AI citations, content structure, schema markup and measuring AI visibility. It does not cover GEO, entity SEO, links and off-page, local AI SEO, crawler access or workflow automation.

Who teaches AEO Fundamentals?

Jorie Munroe and Jenn Sanchez, both at HubSpot, are named on the course page. Neither has published AI search testing that the directory could find. Course level, support channel and instructor access are not stated publicly; checked 17 September 2026.

Is the certificate accredited?

The page calls it a certification course and names no external accrediting body. Public HubSpot Community threads record truncated certificate text that was later reformatted, and an English course issuing a German certificate. Treat it as a completion badge; checked 17 September 2026.

Is AEO Fundamentals worth the time?

For a free 2 hr 20 min, yes if you are starting out. Commentary calls it accessible and introductory, with complaints about certificate handling and access limits. No community or live sessions are included, and no public course rating exists to check.

## Sources

1.  [https://academy.hubspot.com/courses/aeo-fundamentals-certification-en](https://academy.hubspot.com/courses/aeo-fundamentals-certification-en)
    
2.  [https://www.linkedin.com/in/jorie-munroe-8ab372108](https://www.linkedin.com/in/jorie-munroe-8ab372108)
    
3.  [https://offers.hubspot.com/academy-aeo-certifications](https://offers.hubspot.com/academy-aeo-certifications)
    
4.  [https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/become-seo-expert](https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/become-seo-expert)
    
5.  [https://www.hubspot.com/partners/affiliates](https://www.hubspot.com/partners/affiliates)
    
6.  [https://web.archive.org/web/20260629200146/https://academy.hubspot.com/courses/aeo-fundamentals-certification-en](https://web.archive.org/web/20260629200146/https://academy.hubspot.com/courses/aeo-fundamentals-certification-en)
    
7.  [https://web.archive.org/web/\*/https://academy.hubspot.com/courses/aeo-fundamentals-certification-en](https://web.archive.org/web/*/https://academy.hubspot.com/courses/aeo-fundamentals-certification-en)
    
8.  [https://community.hubspot.com/t/aeo-fundamentals-certificate-description-text-is-cut-off/156251](https://community.hubspot.com/t/aeo-fundamentals-certificate-description-text-is-cut-off/156251)
    
9.  [https://community.hubspot.com/t/aeo-fundamentals-hubspot-academy-certificate-generated-in-german-instead-of-english/158024](https://community.hubspot.com/t/aeo-fundamentals-hubspot-academy-certificate-generated-in-german-instead-of-english/158024)

Record last checked on 17 September 2026. Observation cutoff for the dataset: 18 September 2026. Source file: 01-aeo-fundamentals.md.

Cite this

AEO Fundamentals: composite 63.2 of 100 (low confidence), Free, No public rating. AiSeoCourse Directory, 17 September 2026. https://aiseocourse.directory/courses/aeo-fundamentals/ (CC BY 4.0).

HTML with the attribution link <p>AEO Fundamentals: composite 63.2 of 100 (low confidence), Free, No public rating. <a href="https://aiseocourse.directory/courses/aeo-fundamentals/">AiSeoCourse Directory</a>, 17 September 2026. Data: CC BY 4.0.</p>
